Breakdown: Digimon Franchise

Breakdown: Digimon Franchise

The Digimon Franchise is very large. So I will only be looking at their anime and anime movies. I would like to look at all the games as well, but this Anime Amino. So let us stay on topic. Digimon started out as a Tamagotchi’s. It spun into an anime that started a whole new franchise. This is the Digimon Franchise anime breakdown.

Digimon Adventure

This was the first series released of the Digimon Franchise. March 7, 1999 was the first episode debut on the Japanese TV channel Fuji TV and Kids Statio. Fox Kids, in the United Stated, aired the first episode on August 14, 1999. It follows the adventure of seven kids (initially; an eighth one joins later) into the Digital World. There they must save that one world and their world at the same time. Each kid receives a Digimon as a fighting partner.

Digimon Adventure 02

The second series to the franchise. It began airing on the same channel on April 2, 2000. The setting takes place three years after the first series. A new evil has arrived and a new team is assembled. This time only two of the original children are on the team. New Digimon are introduced as well.

Digimon Tamers

The third series began airing April 1, 2001. Instead of going to the Digital World, this series is mainly set in the reality world. There are real items in the real world that can power boost their Digimon partner. It follows the stories of three people.

Digimon Frontier

As the fourth series in the franchise, it aired April 7, 2002. This series is very different from the other three series. A new evolution is introduced called Spirit Evolution. The human partner uses something called D-Tectors to transform into Digimon. These Digimon are called Legendary Warriors.

Digimon Savers/Data Squad

This series debuted April 2, 2006 after three years of hiatus. This series is very different from the original concept. The story follows members of Digital Accident Tactics Squad that cover up the fact that Digimon and the Digital World exist.

Digimon Xros Wars/Fusion

On TV Asahi, the sixth series aired on July 6, 2010. It went back to the original concept of human/Digimon teammates. The story follows a group of people that end up in the Digital World. A new technique is introduced called DigiFuse.

Digimon Xros Wars: The Young Hunters Who Leapt Through Time

The sequel to Digimon Xros Wars. It takes place a year after the series and aired on October 2, 2011.

Digimon Adventure tri.

The newest series to the franchise. It is based after the first two seasons of the series, having the original characters. It takes place six years after the original story line. It id set to air in April

Films of the Digimon Franchise

Digimon Adventure (Part one of Digimon: The Movie)

Digimon Adventure: Our War Game (Part two of Digimon: The Movie)

Digimon Adventure 02: Digimon Hurricane Touchdown/Supreme Evolution! The Golden Digimentals (Part three of Digimon: The Movie)

Digimon Adventure 02: Diablomon Strikes Back (Revenge of Diaboromon)

Digimon Tamers: The Adventurers’ Battle (Battle of Adventurers)

Digimon Tamers: Runaway Digimon Express (Runaway Locomon)

Digimon Frontier: Revival of the Ancient Digimon (Island of Lost Digimon)

Digital Monster X-Evolution

Digimon Savers: Ultimate Power! Activate Burst Mode!!